BBC’s Sound Of 2011

I, like many people, tend to look at the BBC’s Sound Of poll as a reference point of who to look out for, especially with past acts including Little Boots, Ellie Goulding and Corinne Bailey Rae. However, this year has left me feeling slightly empty.

There are some obvious inclusions in The Vaccines, James Blake, Yuck and Warpaint. Of these I am the biggest fan of The Vaccines, especially with so many people writing them off, and Warpaint, who are just stunningly brilliant. Yuck are not my personal favourites but I can see why they made the list, as with James Blake also. And finally there’s Esben and The Witch, who I’ve heard very little of.

But when it comes to the rest of the list I’m none the foggiest. Some names I’ve heard banded round here and there, but never have I had the appeal to listen to them. And I like to consider myself up to date on new music, so this confuses me. I could list half a dozen other new bands that deserve to be on that list, but that would take the achievement away form those that were there.

Hopefully one of my aforementioned favourites will be successful in winning the list. But if nothing it has achieved what it sets out to do, introducing new acts to an even wider audience.

Leave a Reply

