The Strokes – Under Cover Of Darkness

Okay, it’s been 24 hours now. 24 hours since the return of one of my favourite bands. I’ve stuck with them through thick and thin, awful solo projects included. But this, this is just heaven.

Under Cover Of Darkness is the first taster we get of upcoming album Angles, and honestly I didn’t expect anything better than this. If I’m honest I wasn’t prepared to love this as much as I do. Even though it doesn’t have the hooks of Last Nite, the ferocity of Reptilia or the urgency of Juicebox, it’s undeniably the same band. And you probably wouldn’t believe me if I told you the number of times I’ve listened to this bloody song since I downloaded it!

This, along with The Vaccines debut, is my most anticipated album of the year (maybe the next Los Campesinos! one too). And come festival season I’m going to be completely distraught to be missing them as I’ll be in America, and unless they play Lollapalooza a second year in a row, I’m going to miss them again!

Leave a Reply

