Lives Online

As I may or may not have mentioned, Sunderland University run an online scheme called Lives Online for students to contribute to year on year. Each year they pick a selection of students to run a blog for a year documenting every aspect of student life, from university lectures to life outside of work. This year I decided to give it a go and enter to get the chance to get involved, and I managed to progress to the second round of interviews, but sadly no further. But anyway before I ramble on to much, here’s the application that I wrote (and it would be great if you told me what you thought!)

Tell us about an event or activity you’ve taken part in recently. It could be something you do regularly as part of a club or society, an event connected to your course, or something else entirely.

Starting a Magazine Journalism course, radio was something I’d never even considered. It was always there, especially once I was made the Music Editor at Spark Magazine, but the written word always prevailed. Then one day on an off chance I was offered an on-air interview with a band, with mere hours to prepare. The adrenaline rush of pulling questions out of nowhere, and the thought of my voice being heard by people out there made for one of the most fascinating experiences of my life. Sure it was over in a flash, but then aren’t all good things? It’s still a story to tell the grandkids, right?

Tell us something about living with other students. It could be an anecdote, some advice or anything else you can think of.

Living on your own is an adventure. I like to think of it as I’m Indiana Jones, and my flatmates are the team around, there to support and do everything you can’t. But like any team, getting the right bunch of flatmates together is a tough job. You need people that you get in with, that you can endure for a prolonged amount of time, i.e. that tiny little area in the Venn diagram of your friendship group. Admittedly being thrown into Halls together gives you a bit of a head start, but in my experience it doesn’t always work out. I spent my first year talking to one person that I shared with, and spending most of my time with other people. Sure Halls gives you people, but you have to search out the ones you click with. And then in second year, make sure you at least like where you choose to live! I’m counting down the days until I’m out of here! Fingers crossed for a more successful final year!

To find out more head here, and I’ll be checking up on this year’s recruits (I promise I’m not bitter or anything!)

Leave a Reply

