Los Campesinos! – By Your Hand

I’m now adding to my certifiably “indie” status by dropping a few pieces for Propaganda’s blog. They run the UK’s biggest indie night you know. So here are some nice words I had to say about Los Campesinos!

If there’s any justice in the world (now I swear I’m not going to break into the tragic Blue song) then Los Campesinos! would be the biggest band in the world. Obviously there’s not, but this taster from upcoming third album, Hello Sadness, is possibly their biggest chance of breaking into the big time for sure.

Now I’m a fully paid up member of Team Campesinos’ fan club, but ‘By Your Hand’ is full of Gareth’s brutally honest and irresistibly suggestive lyrics (they are the soundtrack to my perpetual heartbreak) mixed with an array of handclaps, guitar hooks and effortless keys to create something that wouldn’t sound out of place on a late 80s/early 90s video game. Basically excellent. And that’s not even mentioning the Rob “Sparky Deathcap” Campesinos’ so called sex rap as the track reaches its final stages and the truly magnificent harmonies throughout.

And with the following words from Gareth: “I’m not sure if its love anymore/But I’ll be thinking of you fondly for sure/Remember what your heart is for”, I hope Los Campesinos! are ready for a whole lot of love in the foreseeable future.

Still need persuading? Check out the decidedly comically sinister video below, and if you like what you hear head over to http://www.loscampesinos.com to get this and find out more about Hello Sadness.

Leave a Reply

