Festival Preview: Latitude

I’m facing a very large dilemma here. Just days after promising one of my best friends of my appearance at Benicassim, Latitude go and announce this display of wondrousness for us to enjoy:

20120305-220949.jpg

So what’s a girl to do? First, let’s get the facts. One’s in the delightful English countryside and incredibly well cultured, whilst the other is in scorching sunshine and all about the music. When you look at it like that (and when you look at me, I’m sat here with knitting on my knee for christ’s sake), there’s clearly only one choice.

The headliners (and many of the other artists) are a culmination of some of my biggest heroes; Weller, Hawley and Cooper Clarke all in attendance, and some of my favourite new bands of the year, such as Alabama Shakes, Baxter Dury, Kurt Vile and Django Django. Oh and did I mention that Professor Brian Cox is there?!

Handily, it’s (hopefully) the weekend after I graduate. What better way to celebrate it than to enjoy a delightful injection of culture and music? Aside from those that I’ve mentioned above, there are The Horrors, Wild Beasts, Janelle Monae, Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros, White Lies, Howler, Elbow, Laura Marling, Metronomy, I could go on for days.

And that’s just covering the music. Highlights across the rest of the stages include Shappi Korshandi, Josie Long, Russell Kane, Jack Dee, The Infinate Monkey Cage, Mark Watson, Mark Lamarr, Marcus Brigstocke, Adam Buxton, (I am aware that I’m just spouting endless lists but I’m a little more than excited) and Greg Davies. I mean just seriously look at the poster above and tell me that it’s not going to be the best weekend ever?

Tickets are now on sale here for a very reasonable price and even offered in installment plans for the poor among us (this is coming from a student with a grad total of about a fiver to her name!). What’s to complain about? See you in Henham Park!

Leave a Reply

