Now Playing #8

As an apology for being more than shocking at updating this little thing here, I’ve put together something of a collection of tracks that I’ve been obsessing over for the last couple of weeks. I promise that I will update more often once I’m used to working full-time again (I have a review of the absolutely fab This Many Boyfriends album to get online too, I will get round to it!) My feet aren’t so happy that I’m working in the field of retail again!

Taylor Swift – We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together

I have a confession to make – I am a fan of cheesy pop. I’ve moved on from my obsession with all things 90s and turned my attention well and truly towards Ms Swift. Having gone through uni with a Taylor Swift Uber-fan, she’s always been there I was just too distracted by boys with guitars to listen. And my god this song is so bloody catchy too! I think I must listen to it at least 10 times a day at the minute and sadly I know the words and have almost choreographed a playground routine to it (going back to my school days clearly). It is so becoming my karaoke number du jour …

Palma Violets – Best Of Friends

It’s been a while since I’ve been genuinely excited by a new band, so this is pretty special. Palma Violets may well be a) a truly awful sweet and b) the next big buzz band, but this track is an actual aural delight. Catchy chorus, brilliant guitars and the all important stick-in-your-head-ability of all good songs (technical term there) come together to make what is surely one of the best tracks of the year. I was meant to go see them last Tuesday but being the older person I am I chose to stay in and watch the Great British Bake Off! Boy do I regret it!

One Direction – Live While We’re Young

Yes, it may rip off The Clash, there is no mistaking that riff, but the track is bloody good, and moaning about that does them a disservice. They might not have written it, but the production team behind them clearly know what they’re doing. It’s a ridiculously good song, and if you don’t believe me, play it and see how soon it is before you sing along. There’s a reason that they’re the biggest boyband on the planet.

The Beatles – Love Me Do

From the current biggest boyband in the world to the original. 50 years on, Love me Do is still as good as it ever was. Beautiful in its simplicity, something that is perhaps a bit lacking in modern music. It’s the kind of track that makes me wish I could write one just as good, before I resign myself to just listening to it over and over again. Quite possibly one of the best songs ever written. (On another note, I’m devoting tomorrow to catching up on all the Beatles stuff that was on this weekend, in my Beatles jamas, because I’m cool like that).

The Ronettes – Baby I Love You

As I’m currently engrossed in a book all about the history of girl groups, this has been getting a hammering along with The Crystals. With such a unique and powerful voice mixed with the incredible production of a certain Mr Spector, its an instantly recognisable classic. I could wax lyrical for days, but you’ve already had over 500 words from my brain, far too much for anyone to take!

The Libertines – Boys In The Band

This week sees 10 years since the release of Up The Bracket. I might not have been on board since day 1 (I was only 11!) but its sits up there with Is This It as my favourite albums. Since inadvertently coming across and maybe half-inching it from my Dad’s CD collection its been a regular fixture in my ears and essentially indulged my slight obsession with boys in bands … thanks Carlos & co.

Okay, I will actually shut up now! As I said before I’m going to try and keep this updated a bit better now I’m learning to juggle work and life! Later this week I’ll pop up the This Many Boyfriends piece and I may as well throw on the playlist I made my friend, tentatively titled “Pretty Boys That Play Guitar”. Taxing, yes! I might even get round to reviewing Perks Of Being A Wallflower as I’m off to see that tonight (I swear if Emma Watson ruins one of my favourite books …). But now I’m off for a run!

 

Leave a Reply

